Rebel in the Woods

Rebel in the Woods
Civil War Song from the Western Border Vol. II
With Bob Dyer 1995


Released in late 1995, this is a fine sequel to the award-winning “Johnny Whistletrigger” album of Civil War songs from the Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas region. This album has also been named a Notable Recording for 1996 by the American Library Association. Most of the selections are rare songs not previously recorded on any other Civil War album.

Read a review

(Click on any of the song titles below to display background and lyrics)

  1. Call of Quantrill
  2. War in Missouri in ’61
  3. Missouri, Bright Land of the West
  4. Atchison’s Buchaneers/Quindaro Hornpipe
  5. The Death of Lyon
  6. Kelly’s Irish Brigade
  7. Rebel in the Woods
  8. The Swamp Fox
  9. Daniel Martin
  10. Marching Quadrille/Nolan the Soldier
  11. Blackfoot Rangers
  12. Anderson’s Warning
  13. Wakefield
  14. Jesse James
  15. Gone to Kansas